BigCommercevsShopify
Score Comparison
Signals Comparison
BigCommerce
- Forced plan upgrades based on revenue thresholds(9/10)
- Enterprise pricing shock after growth(9/10)
- B2B features locked behind Enterprise pricing(7/10)
Shopify
- Transaction fees on top of monthly subscription(8/10)
- Essential features locked behind expensive apps(8/10)
- No refunds on fees when orders are cancelled(8/10)
BigCommerce
- Developer required for meaningful customizations(7/10)
Shopify
- Limited customization without expensive development(7/10)
BigCommerce
- Support struggles with technical and billing questions(7/10)
- No refund policy and difficult cancellation(8/10)
Shopify
- Phone support discontinued in 2025 - AI chatbot barriers(9/10)
- Years-old issues remain unresolved(6/10)
BigCommerce
- Slow site speed affecting SEO and conversions(8/10)
Shopify
No signals
BigCommerce
- App ecosystem limitations and add-on costs(7/10)
- Forced migrations breaking existing integrations(8/10)
- API throttling and reliability issues(8/10)
Shopify
- Social media connectivity could be improved(5/10)
BigCommerce
- SEO and blog limitations hurt organic traffic(7/10)
- No staging environment for testing changes(6/10)
- Limited reporting and analytics customization(5/10)
Shopify
- Inventory management is clunky and limited(6/10)
BigCommerce
- Buggy updates and indexing delays(6/10)
Shopify
- Chargebacks favor customers - merchants lose goods AND money(9/10)
- Data and reporting issues - conversion rates often wrong(7/10)
- Trustpilot rating 1.5/5 vs G2 4.4/5 - massive discrepancy(6/10)
BigCommerce
No signals
Shopify
- No due diligence on merchants - fraud concerns(7/10)
Pricing Comparison
BigCommerce
Users: Unlimited staff accounts
Storage: Unlimited
Limits: No persistent cart, No customer groups, No stored credit cards, Sales capped at $50K/year before forced upgrade
Users: Unlimited staff accounts
Storage: Unlimited
Limits: Same as monthly Standard but with annual commitment required
Users: Unlimited staff accounts
Storage: Unlimited
Limits: No faceted search (product filtering), No price lists, Sales capped at $180K/year before forced upgrade
Users: Unlimited staff accounts
Storage: Unlimited
Limits: Same as monthly Plus
Users: Unlimited staff accounts
Storage: Unlimited
Limits: Sales capped at $400K-$1M before forced Enterprise upgrade. Custom pricing features limited compared to Enterprise.
Users: Unlimited staff accounts
Storage: Unlimited
Limits: Same as monthly Pro with annual commitment
Users: Unlimited staff accounts
Storage: Unlimited
Limits: Requires annual contract. Custom pricing means negotiation required. Quotes vary significantly.
Shopify
Users: Not specified
Storage: Unlimited
Limits: Basic reports only, 2 staff accounts, limited checkout customization
Users: Not specified
Storage: Unlimited
Limits: Still lacks advanced customization, checkout modifications limited
Users: Not specified
Storage: Unlimited
Limits: Still requires apps for many features, expensive for small businesses
Users: Unlimited
Storage: Unlimited
Limits: Requires significant investment, complex for small operations
Feature Comparison
| Feature | BigCommerce | Shopify |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | ||
| Zero transaction fees On all plans, regardless of payment gateway | ||
| Transaction fee refunds No longer offered | ||
| E-commerce | ||
| Online store builder All plans | ||
| Duties/taxes calculation Advanced plan only | ||
| Products | ||
| Unlimited products All plans include unlimited products | ||
| Product variants Up to 600 variants per product | ||
| Payments | ||
| Payment processing Shopify Payments | ||
| Admin | ||
| Unlimited staff accounts No per-user charges on any plan | ||
| Multi-storefront Manage multiple stores from one dashboard | ||
| Marketing | ||
| Abandoned cart recovery Plus plan and above only | ||
| Design | ||
| Mobile themes Responsive | ||
| B2B | ||
| Customer groups/segmentation Plus plan and above | ||
| Price lists Limited on Pro, full on Enterprise only | ||
| Integrations | ||
| App ecosystem Thousands of apps | ||
| API access Throttling limits apply; unlimited on Enterprise | ||
| Sales | ||
| Shopify POS In-person sales | ||
| Multi-channel selling Amazon, eBay, Facebook, Instagram, Walmart | ||
| Security | ||
| SSL certificate Included | ||
| Free SSL certificate Included on all plans | ||
| PCI compliance Level 1 PCI DSS certified | ||
| Shipping | ||
| Real-time shipping quotes All plans include carrier-calculated rates | ||
| Support | ||
| Phone support Removed Spring 2025 | ||
| Customization | ||
| Drag-and-drop editor Theme editor is limited; requires developer for significant changes | ||
| Checkout customization Plus only ($2,300+) | ||
| Development | ||
| Staging environment No native staging/sandbox capability | ||
| Content | ||
| Blog on main domain Blog launches on subdomain by default | ||